top of page
Pigeon House Literary Agency is a redefi
Home: Welcome

Message from Pigeon

When I founded the Pigeon House Agency and I wanted to start an agency that was unlike any other agency. After two years of researching other agencies and how they operated, I knew that I was going to be a top notch literary agency, and that was fine. I wanted to create an agency that would redefined what it means to be a published author and a literary agent. I wanted my clientele to be different in a pleasing way and fresh.

This company means so much to me because I get to give back, have my own client list and offer books to publishers that are new, different, dark, quirky and everything in between. I want my authors to be able to bloom at my agency and not just exist. I want this agency to inspire their best work and offer longevity. In the future, I hope to collaborate with some of the best that have never been given a chance. I small eclectic little boutique agency that has readers and authors coming back, page after page until we’ve constructed a bestselling client list and agency.


Druella Burhan 

Home: About
Home: Blog2
  • Writer's picturePigeon House Literary

The Voice and Tone of Your Craftsmanship

Whenever I get query submissions the first thing I try to do is locate the tone and voice of the writers style and authenticity of their story. Now, not to say that all stories are not authentic and all styles do not have tone, but the majority of the work that gets rejected from me needs to develop and enhance their tone. Some writers can come off as being snarky and obnoxious in their query letters but their story is overall nicely written and has the sort of element that I am looking for at this agency. Needless to say, the authenticity of the story

has nothing to do with how the characters are written or the overall flow of the story. I also have a slight contempt for writers who force their characters to do things they would not normally do and you get this feeling. It takes a really great writer to have a character do crazy things and they seem natural and fit them and the story. The best way to find the tone is to think about the characters and take notes for weeks before putting pen to paper. As a writer myself, I really need to dig deep enough to know what my characters will be doing and plan accordingly. This will include sponsoring different ideas, locations, friendships, alone time, family and other random bits of information that makes this person whole. It takes planning and dedication to your authenticity to really craft a story that is going to showcase your tone and style. Style is relative and tone can be as well as you learn that each story is different. As you grow more and more as a writer, and begin to reach out and develop your craft more and more you will realize this. Writing is also a gift as well as style and tone when writing a story. It takes so much intent to create a story that has benevolence, gore, comedy to sadness. It needs to be genuine, real and dangerous. It will be so precious when you look back on your writing and see and feel how much you have grown, and knowing that you put in the correct amount of perseverance to obtain everything that you have ever wanted to accomplish. And this, is a very VERY, good thing.


To Summertime Blues and Moonlight,


Druella Burhan

42 views0 comments
bottom of page